Palembang, The City of Pempek

Hello there, travelers! How are you doing? πŸ™‚
It’s been quite a while since I posted something here. This time, I’ll share with you, my recent trip to a city in Indonesia called Palembang. It is the capital city of South Sumatra, Indonesia. It is one of the oldest cities in Indonesia with a history as the capital city of Kingdom of Srivijaya, a powerful Malay kingdom, which had lots of influence in Southeast Asia.

My flight from Jakarta to Palembang

View from my hotel room

The Famous Pempek

The famous pempek

If you come to this city, make sure you find this delicacy called Pempek. It’s made out of fish mixed with flour. The fish they use is not some random fish you can buy in the market. It’s commonly known as Spanish Mackerels. On the table, they provide a big bottle of chili sauce. And they have different kind of pempek in various shapes. I had another portion and much bigger than this but I forgot to snap a picture of it. Too busy to enjoy the food haha.
Where to find it? Palembang has many restaurants specifying on pempek but personally I like a place called Beringin. They have many branches in the city. Actually we have pempek in Jakarta but nothing tastes this good. So I brought home 1 big box containing different kinds of pempek ;p

Mie Celor

Mie Celor

Another famous dish from this city is Mie Celor. As you can see, it is noodle with creamy soup. It tastes fine. Nothing spectacular but still worth a try πŸ™‚

That's me in front of Ampera Bridge

That’s me in front of Ampera Bridge!

On the background is the famous landmark, Ampera Bridge which connects two parts of the city. The north part of the city, Seberang Ilir, is Palembang’s economic and cultural centre while the south part, Seberang Ulu, is the political centre.

Dinner with Ampera bridge in the background

I managed to get a nice table for dinner πŸ™‚

Ok. I think this concludes my travel post this time! Hope you guys enjoy it! Until next time! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

